AFRICANTERMINAL

AFRICAN

TERMINAL

Business School

Many people who have come to Hamburg from African countries in recent years want to be active in the import-export business. But most often capital is missing. The African Terminal is an organization of traders from Gambia, Ghana and Nigeria who have knowledge about the sales markets in their respective countries of origin and will further qualify themselves within the first trading transactions. This includes opening business accounts or applying for a driver's license, as much as complex logistical, economic and legal questions.

But also the cultural workers involved in the project want to learn something. Our common research is concerned with the following questions: Did you know that 90 percent of stuff that we use in our daily life comes to us by ways of the sea? 130 million tons of cargo from over 900 different ports around the globe is being cleared in Hamburg port each year. Logistics and the shipping business have become one of the biggest economic sectors worldwide. Analysts speak of a logistical turn.

But as it is always huge corporations that control the market, less and less people are actively involved in the transportation sector. Even if the history of Hamburg as a city is closely linked to its harbor, today, very few citizens of Hamburg do have knowledge about sea trade. This is a global trend: 'We suffer from sea blindness', the chief of the British Navy claims.

The African Terminal wants to do something about this sea blindness. It allows us to practically experience how global logistics is being handled in the Hamburg port, how sea trade functions and who makes profits from is. For us, the most important question remains: How can we use trade as a means for joint action?

The Business School of the African Terminal cooperates with the graduate school Performing Citizenship (Hafencity Universität/HAW Hamburg/FUNDUS THEATER/ K3 – Zentrum für Choreographie) and is connected to research projects on the relation of sound and remembrance of colonial history (Katharina Kellermann), on the relation of logistics and choreography (Moritz Frischkorn), and on paralogistics (Sibylle Peters).

In its future development, the business school of the African Terminal is interested in cooperations with NGOs, and official institutions such as the chamber of commerce, or job centers. Please contact us, if you are interested!

AFRICANTERMINAL

AFRICAN

TERMINAL

Business School

Viele Neuhamburger, die in den vergangenen Jahren aus afrikanischen Ländern in die Stadt gekommen sind, wollen im Im- und Exporthandel mit afrikanischen Ländern tätig zu werden. Meist fehlt Ihnen dazu jedoch Kapital. Im African Terminal sind angehende Händler aus Gambia, Ghana und Nigeria organisiert, die ihr Wissen über den Markt in ihren Herkunftsländern mitbringen, und sich im Zuge der ersten Handelstransaktionen in Hamburg weiter qualifizieren. Dazu gehört die Eröffnung eines Geschäftskontos oder die Neubeantragung eines Führerscheins ebenso wie komplexe logistische, rechtliche und ökonomische Fragen.

Nicht nur für die Neuhamburger ist der African Terminal eine Schule, auch die kultur-schaffenden Mitglieder wollen hier etwas lernen und mit allen Beteiligten gemeinsam erforschen:

Wussten Sie, dass 90 Prozent aller Gegenstände, die wir im Alltag nutzen, auf dem Seeweg zu uns kommen? 130 000 000 Tonnen Güter aus über 900 Häfen dieser Welt werden jährlich im Hamburger Hafen umgeschlagen. Ein entscheidender Wirtschaftsfaktor: Theoretiker_innen sprechen von einem Logistical Turn. Doch immer größer sind die Konzerne, die dieses Geschäft beherrschen, und immer weniger Menschen haben Anteil daran.

Obwohl die Geschicke von Hafen und Stadt so eng miteinander verbunden sind, teilen immer weniger Hamburgerinnen und Hamburger ein Wissen darüber, wie Seehandel funktioniert. Dies ist ein weltweiter Trend: „We suffer from Seablindness“, nennt der Chef der britischen Marine das. Mit dem African Terminal wollen wir etwas gegen unsere Seablindness tun und ganz praktisch erfahren: Wie funktioniert Logistik im Hamburger Hafen? Wie funktioniert Seehandel und wer verdient daran?

Die wichtigste Frage bleibt: Wie kann aus Handel ein Miteinander Handeln werden?

Die Business School des African Terminal kooperiert mit dem Graduiertenkolleg Performing Citizenship (Hafencity Universität/HAW Hamburg/FUNDUS THEATER/ K3 – Zentrum für Choreographie) und steht in Verbindung zu Forschungsprojekten zum Zusammenhang von Sound und der Erinnerung an Kolonialgeschichte (Katharina Kellermann), zum Zusammenhang von Logistik und Choreographie (Moritz Frischkorn), sowie zu Paralogistik (Sibylle Peters).

Die Business School des African Terminal ist für ihre weitere Entwicklung an Kooperationen mit NGOs und Organisationen wie der Handelskammer oder auch der Agentur für Arbeit interessiert. Bei Interesse bitte melden!